Click on each tab to view the featured book titles
Infectious diseases : a clinical approach by 
Prevention and Control of Infections in Hospitals by 
Kucers' the Use of Antibiotics by
Kucers'The Use of Antibiotics is the definitive, internationally-authored reference, providing everything that the infectious diseases specialist and prescriber needs to know about antimicrobials in this vast and rapidly developing field. The much-expanded Seventh Edition comprises 4800 pages in 3 volumes in order to cover all new and existing therapies, and emerging drugs not yet fully licensed. Concentrating on the treatment of infectious diseases, the content is divided into four sections - antibiotics, anti-fungal drugs, anti-parasitic drugs, and anti-viral drugs
Antimicrobial Resistance in the 21st Century by 
The Clinician's Vaccine Safety Resource Guide by
UptoDate provides evidence summaries after a rigorous review of the current literature. UptoDate continually updates its content, hence the product name.
Did you know that UpToDate has a dedicated topic titled Infectious Diseases. Under the broader topic of Hospital Medicine there is a dedicated sub-speciality titled Hospital Medicine Infectious Diseases.
Professional Organizations are a good starting point to view the latest society and position statements; which can supplement knowledge in guideline and policy procedures.
The College provides professional development to equip individuals and organisations with the skills and knowledge needed to deliver infection prevention and control services.
Published by the NHMRC these guidelines provide recommendations that outline the critical aspects of infection prevention and control.
The Australian Immunisation Handbook provides clinical advice for health professionals on the safest and most effective use of vaccines in their practice. These recommendations are developed by Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) and approved by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
This CDC links provides the latest guidelines published in infection control.
This site provides information on The Australian Commission on Quality and Safety in Health Care National Hand Hygiene Initiative. The purpose of the National Hand Hygiene Initiative is to develop a national approach to improving hand hygiene and monitor its effectiveness.
Published by the Victorian. Department of Health, these guidelines explain how to control the spread of infectious diseases including gastro, arbo virus, respiratory illness, scabies and vancomycin resistant enterococci (VRE). Advice on how to manage exposure to blood and body fluids and other infectious substances including protocols for cleaning up spills and waste disposal.
Provides the latest Australian and International stands in sterilization, cleaning, disinfecting and related areas. Please contact the library directly for access.
All Victorian Public Hospitals are required to participate in VICNISS and regularly submit data on infections and related activities, whereas participation is voluntary for private hospitals.
Developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality In Health Care (ACSQHC) and Health Direct Australia. It's aims is to provide a unified system to gather data on antimicrobial use and resistance.
This CDC links provides the latest guidelines published in antimicrobial stewardship
Choosing Wisely Australia is an initiative of the National Prescribing Service This links provides further antibiotic resources for clinicians.
Useful resources in antibiotic resistance for health professionals and consumers
These PubMed live searches have been developed and tested by the Health Libraries for the National Standards Research Project (HeLiNS), and endorsed by the ACSQHS.
The searches provide updated results for topics aligned to the Australian National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards.
Here is the main standard required for infection control processing.
To see further for other standards please logon to the Standards Online website
