Skip to Main Content

Contacts, FAQ's: Registering for Library Remote Access (OpenAthens)

This guide provides a guide to registering to access the Cabrini Library resources from offsite

What is OpenAthens

  • Library-subscribed resources, such as journals, databases, and ebooks are provided via customised links on the Library website. When you use these links outside the Cabrini Health network you will be prompted to log in to OpenAthens before being redirected to your chosen resource.
  • OpenAthens is the authentication system that will allow you to log onto any subscribed resources and databases that require authentication.
  • Staff can sign in using their OpenAthens account for full-text access if Cabrini subscribes to the online journal or resource.
  • A resource can be a database e.g. Ovid Medline, a medication resource such as Australian Medicine's Handbook or an eBook.
  • If the resource or full text journal article is "Open Access" you are not prompted to log in with your OpenAthens account.
  • Users will only need to login ONCE per session. An OpenAthens session stays active for up to 8 hours, unless you clear your browser cache and cookies.

NOTE : VPN Access

  • The type of VPN provided by IT allows remote access to the Cabrini intranet and access to your personal directories.
  • It is not a tool for accessing library resources and some medication resources such as AMH and Therapeutic Guidelines ; you must still register for OpenAthens.

Register your staff details for remote access

  • Please complete the Self-Registration form https://register.openathens.net/cabrini.com.au/register
  • Please ensure all required details are complete on the self-registration form.
  • All staff with a Cabrini email account, must use their Cabrini email ending with @cabrini.com.au for authentication.
  • All accredited doctors and honorary staff can use their own private email address; the administrator (Librarian) will be alerted to check accredited status and to activate the account for remote access.

How do I access the library remotely?

Troubleshooting

Forgotten password : Reset your password

Error message : "This account has been deactivated." Usually this means that the account was not activated within 30 days of registering.  Check your junk email folder to see if the email has been delivered there.  Otherwise contact library@cabrini.com.au to send you a new activation email.

Error message : "Your account has expired." OpenAthens always email you a month before with expiry with a prompt to renew. Check your junk email folder to see if the email has been delivered there. Contact library@cabrini.com.au if you still require assistance to renew your account.

You attempt to renew an expired account from off-site but if fails.  You can only renew off-site only if your Cabrini staff email address was used when registering.  For accredited health professionals if you used a personal email address; either renew when on-site at Cabrini or contact library@cabrini.com.au to renew your account on your behalf.

 

FAQ's when accessing full text journal articles remotely

 How do I know if Cabrini subscribes to this journal?

This is the most common question asked.

Recommend:

  • Sign in with your OpenAthens account prior to searching for your topic.
  • If you are already logged with your OpenAthens account, the system will do the work for you in the following scenarios.

Article found via the Cabrini library site 

  • Cabrini's Discovery Search will automatically alert the user if there is no fulltext access by the following link under the record details. 
  • Simply click on this link and it will auto-populate a document delivery form which will be directly delivered to the library for processing.

Article found via Ovid Medline

  • Accessing OVID Medline and clicking on the Check for fulltext link will also auto-populate the document delivery form, if no subscribed or open access is identified.
Article found via a publisher's website
  • Staff can logon with their Open Athens account from a specific publisher site or via a search engine such as Google Scholar.
  • This means that if you have found an article during a Google search, your access can be authenticated at the vendor's website, you do not have to go back to the Cabrini Library page to log in.
  • Every publisher site is unique, but the Sign In or Login option to OpenAthens often appears in the top right corner of the screen.
  • If you cannot find Cabrini Health listed under the Find Your Organization in OpenAthens, this means Cabrini does not subscribe to this journal. Recommend: Simply copy and paste your article citation into an email and mail to library@cabrini.com.au
The journal site has the Cabrini Health logo.
However I cannot open the fulltext article from this journal?

Frustrating I know.  This means that Cabrini library may either have:

  •  Cancelled the subscription, but still has perpetual access to previous content  OR
  •  The Journal offers Open Access on some of it's content but not access to recent or main research papers.  

Recommend: Simply copy and paste your article citation into an email and mail to library@cabrini.com.au