The following medication resources can be accessed offsite via OpenAthens. Register for OpenAthens here
The following evidence based resources can be accessed offsite by setting up a personal registration. Please refer to the UpTo Date Libguide for instructions and further information.
The following medication resource can be accessed offsite via VPN access.
Note : Pharmacists who have personal membership to The Society of Hospital Pharmacist's of Australia SHPA have access to further pharmacy resources including access to EBSCO Databases and Dynamed.
The top 10 pharmacy journals as indexed by Scimago*
For the full list of all Pharmacy titles in Scimago, please click on this link
*The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators (impact & peer reviewed) developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database published by Elsevier.
UptoDate reviews the latest studies, formally appraises the information and provides a summary and recommendation.
The appraisal is done by an international advisory board of physicians expert in their field.
The following Pharmacy topics can be accessed in UptoDate.
All staff can set up a personal registration to UptoDate to access this resource from offsite.
The attached brochure outlines the registration process.
Many Australians use complementary medicine for specific health conditions or health benefits. These resources provide background information for pharmacy staff.
Herbs - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre - Alphabetical listing of 280 herbs
Herbs and Supplements - Medline Plus - This resource browses dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
Pharmacology Demystified by
Medication management one of the NSQHS standards. This title will be well used by the medical student population, but master your knowledge of pharmacology with this fun and effective book from the "Demystified" title series. Quizzes and check boxes throughout to test your knowledge.
Pharmacy Practice Research Methods by 
Understanding Pharmacology in Nursing Practice by
Educates the qualified nurse responsible for monitoring drug safety and or prescribing medications
Provides the reader with concepts of processes linked to medication safety and applied to nursing practice
Addresses the issues of drug interactions from both a pharmacodynamics as well as pharmacokinetic perspective
Drug Interactions in Infectious Diseases: Antimicrobial Drug Interactions by
Provides informative tables on specific drug-drug interactions
Organized by major antibacterial, antimycobacterial, antiviral, antifungal, antimalarial and antiprotozoal drug classes
New chapters dedicated to the management of HIV drug-drug interactions
Antiseizure Medication Interactions by
Includes details of the magnitude and mechanism of relevant interactions
Discusses the uses of new agents including cannabidiol and cenobamate
Features relevant data on the topics covered
Kucers' the Use of Antibiotics by
Kucers'The Use of Antibiotics is the definitive, internationally-authored reference, providing everything that the infectious diseases specialist and prescriber needs to know about antimicrobials in this vast and rapidly developing field. The much-expanded Seventh Edition comprises 4800 pages in 3 volumes in order to cover all new and existing therapies, and emerging drugs not yet fully licensed.
Antibiotic Policies by 
Antibiotics Simplified by 
Antibiotic Basics for Clinicians by 
Complementary Medicine: Medications and Supplements [Chapter] by
This chapter provides an overview of complementary medicine issues in hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HCT) patients.
Non-Pharmacological Interventions by
Clears the confusion between non-pharmacological interventions (NPIs) and alternative medicines
Is based on science vs. anecdotal evidence/personal experiences or biases due to conflict of interest
Offers an understanding of NPIs in the context of a global viewpoint
Sorts through the ambiguities of NPIs by focusing on using the same language for NPIs
Chooses the best combination of NPIs following specific key elements and guidance
Health Impacts of Developmental Exposure to Environmental Chemicals by
Presents concise and cutting-edge studies on how exposure to environmental chemicals can affect human health and development, including the burgeoning DOHaD concept
Provides a basis for future studies by highlighting the latest innovations in toxicology, remaining challenges, and promising strategies in children’s environmental health research
Puts forward ideas on how to bridge the gap between research evidence and policymaking
