Clicking on any of the title hyperlinks, will take the library user to either the eBook version or the print record entry in the library catalogue.
If the book is only available as a print item, the contents are displayed for users to request a chapter or loan the whole item. A request form is automatically displayed under each print record.
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine by
The sixth edition includes new sections devoted to family and caregiver issues, cardiorespiratory symptoms and disorders, and genitourinary symptoms and disorders. The multidisciplinary nature of palliative care is emphasized throughout, covering areas from ethical and communication issues, the treatment of symptoms, to the management of pain.
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by
The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing is a comprehensive textbook on the art and science of palliative care nursing. Including new chapters on advance care planning, organ donation, self-care, global palliative care, and the ethos of palliative nursing, each chapter is rich with tables and figures, case examples for improved learning, and a strong evidence-based practice to support the highest quality of care.
Oxford Textbook of Communication in Oncology and Palliative Care by 
Clinical Pocket Guide to Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing by
The Clinical Pocket Guide to Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing contains clinical pearls developed from the textbook and practical tools on pain and symptom assessment, functional status, and communication, making it an ideal resource for practicing advanced practice nurses.
Oxford Textbook of Spirituality in Healthcare by
Spirituality and healthcare is an emerging field of research, practice and policy, and healthcare organisations and practitioners are therefore challenged to understand and address spirituality, develop their knowledge and implement effective policy. This is the first reference resource to provide a comprehensive overview of the key topics.
Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing by
This text is aimed at the nursing nonpracticing working in the palliative care setting. Chapters are on pain and symptom management to also theoretical topics on communication. Clinical care is also addressed as well as the spiritual and psychological issues nurses must address in this population.
Compassion by
Prof. Phillip Larkin is a well known author and speaker in the area of palliative care. This book is a narrative from international experts interviewed which provides insight into the motivations, practice of and compassion in palliative care.
Palliative and End of Life Care in Nursing by
An introductory text to nursing students and those working in palliative care. How to handle bereavement, cultural and ethical sensitivities, delivering care in a wide variety of settings, such as critical care
Potential and possibility : rehabilitation at end of life : physiotherapy in palliative care by
This book describes concepts and guides to physiotherapy as a part of end of life care
Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care by
The Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care is a concise summary of current Palliative Care Practice written by those actively involved in the care of patients in the last phase of life.
Respiratory Symptoms by
From the series "What do I know now in Palliative Care" this title reviews respiratory symptoms, especially dyspnea, are common among patients at all ages and across all advanced illness diagnoses. Dyspnea in patients with advanced illness signals impending mortality and is difficult but not impossible to treat. In this volume the contributors provide case examples to give the reader practical information about how to assess and treat common respiratory symptoms, some of which escalate as death approaches.
Pain by
From the series " What do I know now in palliative care" This book serves as a valuable tool to review the non-pharmacologic and pharmacologic modalities available to the clinician, as well as case-based discussions of individual, difficult to treat pain syndromes common in the palliative care practice. Special populations addressed include pediatrics, geriatrics, hepatic compromise, and renal compromise. Additionally, newer treatment modalities, including virtual reality, are presented with real world examples of optimal inclusion into the treatment plan.
Search for more online books on PALLIATIVE MEDICINE from the following collections:
Oxford Medical eBook Collection (Pain Management)
Oxford Medical eBook Collection (Patient care and end of life decision making)
UptoDate is available to use offsite. Please refer to the Registering for UptoDate Guide for further instructions.
As part of the Evidence Based process, please refer to resources such as UptoDate to support your clinical knowledge and expertise.
The following Palliative care topics can be accessed in UptoDate.
Palliative Skills for Frontline Clinicians by
This case-based book features a multidisciplinary, palliative-trained authorship, including neurologists, nephrologists, emergency physicians, surgeons, intensivists, and obstetricians. Divided into four parts, Palliative Skills for Frontline Clinicians outlines common clinical scenarios across settings and specialties to highlight unmet needs of patients with potentially terminal illnesses. Each case is broken down into the usual standard approach, and delves into detail regarding different palliative interventions that can be appropriate in those scenarios.
In-Service presentations are hosted here for staff to access.
Contact Sharmalie Wijesinghe to recommend any articles or other research of interest.
Blog - Physiology of Death
This blog has been recommended by Dr Merlina Sulistio for explaining lack of fluid and food as patient is nearing death to families.
This blog is written for both clinicians and interested human beings. It describes what happens physiologically if we are allowed to die naturally. A caveat is that for the healthy living individual “it ain’t pretty”, but for the dying individual, it is an incredibly beautiful and mysterious mechanism.
Advanced Care Planning Australia
Training and Education resources for health professionals
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare (AIHW) - Palliative Care Service
Latest Australian data and statistical information on palliative care services
Care Search - Palliative Care Knowledge Network (Aust.)
Dedicated resources for nurses to understand palliative care services, gaining knowledge, and developing skills in palliative care.
ELDAC (End of Life Directions for Aged Care)
ELDAC provides information, guidance, and resources to health professionals and aged care workers to support palliative care and advance care planning to improve the care of older Australians.
Macmillan Cancer Support has resources for all health professionals working in palliative care
Medscape is a website providing access to medical information for clinicians and medical scientists; the organization also provides continuing education for physicians and health professionals.
Palliative Care Online Training Modules - Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association
The Palliative Care Online Training portal is a free educational resource designed to support health professionals, family members and carers to deliver best practice palliative care in the community. A free personal registration needs to be setup prior to logging on.
Palliative Care Outcomes Collaboration - University of Wollongong, Australia
Provides resources such as framework for embedding POCC into a palliative care service,
The following medication resources can be accessed offsite via OpenAthens. Register for OpenAthens here
The following resource (Lexicomp) can be accessed offsite by setting up a personal registration. Please refer to the UpTo Date Libguide for instructions and further information.
Did you know?
