For print books, please review the contents and relevant sections can be emailed or faxed immediately, phone the library on 9508 3430
New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry by
The third edition of the textbook presents psychiatry as a medical specialty. The scientific basis of psychiatric aetiology and treatment provide simple introductions to the relevant disciplines that underpin our scientific understanding. Individual disorders are covered in sections that follow the structure of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5). Thus, it follows a clinically led summary of how patients present with psychiatric disorder.
Oxford Textbook of Psychopathology by
Now in its fourth edition, the acclaimed Oxford Textbook of Psychopathology aims for both depth and breadth, with a focus on adult disorders and special attention given to personality disorders.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
Changes to ICD-10-CM Codes for DSM–5 Diagnoses
The 2020 release of ICD-10-CM includes new, updated or deleted codes for medical conditions, which have been approved within the past year. A handful of these changes pertain to mental disorders, and thus affect the coding of DSM-5 Disorders.
Neeb's Mental Health Nursing by
An easy-to-read, conversational writing style shows you how to recognize and respond to the most important mental health issues. You'll also explore important communication techniques, ethical and legal issues, and alternative and complementary treatments. Coverage of nursing interventions, basic psychiatric nursing skills, and psychopharmacology prepares you for the NCLEX-PN® exam and clinical practice.
Nursing Skills for Children and Young People's Mental Health by 
Trauma-Informed Healthcare Approaches by 
Contemporary psychiatric-mental health nursing : partnerships in care by
This book was co-authored by people with a lived experience of mental illness. It covers interdisciplinary mental health theories, the biological basis of mental illness, the science of psychopharmacotherapy, the methods by which people attempt to handle stress. Nursing intervention strategies and outcomes including a wide range of modalities from therapeutic groups to family-focused strategies, crisis intervention and cognitive behavioural interventions.
Mental Health in the Workplace by 
Medical Student Well-Being by 
Physician Mental Health and Well-Being by 
Violence and Mental Health by
This book provides a comprehensive and wide-ranging assessment of the mental health legacy left by violence
Alcohol and Aging by
This book provides a current perspective on alcohol and aging to better understand the trends, costs, benefits, and clinical and community evidenced-based strategies. This book embraces not only the physical, cognitive, psychological, and social health benefits of moderate drinking in the elderly, it also delves into the risks of excessive drinking, including physical and psychiatric morbidity, neurodegeneration, medication complications, and accidents and injuries, and loss of independence.
Mental Health and Pain by
The various chapters cover the myths, neurophysiology, perception, measurement and management of pain in mental health. The most common problems, including mood disorders, schizophrenia, anxiety, somatoform disorders, and pervasive developmental disorders, are covered.
Substance Use Disorders by
The book covers the major drugs of abuse, as well as the more recent ones, detailing the biology of various addictions and all dimensions of clinical diagnosis and management. It is organized in four parts: (1) The Basics, (2) Psychoactive Substance Dependencies, (3) Diagnosis, Treatment, Recovery, Relapse, and the Family, and (4) Special Groups.
Understanding Suicide by
Practical user-friendly tools that facilitate risk assessment by clinicians are provided, and detailed consideration is given to efficient and innovative strategies for the prevention of suicide and the treatment of suicidal behavior, such as psychotherapy, psychopharmacological approaches, and effective organization of care, including surveillance and the use of online tools. The final part of the book focuses on the need for and development of a personalized approach within the field of suicide prevention.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine by
Recommended by the RANZCP as a [general medical text helpful for the OSCE's as well as "organic differences.]
Oxford Textbook of Medicine [Section 24_Neurological Disorders] by
Sections include introductory sections on patients and their treatment, background to medicine, cell biology, and immunological mechanisms, as well as more subject-specific sections such as infectious diseases, neurological disorders, cardiovascular disorders, rheumatology, and the kidney, as well as many more.
Search for more online books on MENTAL HEALTH & PSYCHIATRY from the following collections:
UptoDate is available to use offsite. Please refer to the Registering for UptoDate Guide for further instructions.
As part of the Evidence Based process, please refer to resources such as UptoDate to support your clinical knowledge and expertise.
UptoDate has a dedicated
Psychiatry Board Review by
The book is aimed primarily at board-eligible psychiatrists preparing for their Initial certification in psychiatry. It will be a useful study tool for psychiatrists renewing certification as well, which in the United States is required every ten years. Furthermore the text will also be a useful reference for all psychiatrists in clinical practice to familiarize themselves with the new diagnostic classifications of DSM-5, the latest psychopharmacologic treatment strategies, and psychotherapeutic techniques.
OSCE Revision for the Final FRCEM [Chpt 8 _Psychiatry scenarios] by
Chapter 8 contains 6 different psychiatry sample cases for the FRCEM OSCE. In this chapter, candidates must be able to take a psychiatric history, assess mental state and capacity in the context of deliberate self-harm and mental disorder. This chapter also covers taking an alcohol history, assessing cognition using a MMSE. The cases reflect a range of common presentations that are pertinent to the RCEM curriculum and that are seen in real life Emergency Departments. Each case contains instructions for the candidate and the patient actor, as well as a sample mark scheme breakdown and mark scheme. Key learning points are highlighted after each case.
How to Pass the MRCPsych CASC by
This resource combines practical information with invaluable suggestions of how one might phrase particular questions and direct the conversation during the client interview. It confidently summarises history-taking, mental state examination, clinical management, risk management, diagnostic criteria as well as key clinical guidelines. It also includes a large bank of mock examination scenarios for candidates to practice.
The following medication resources can be accessed offsite via OpenAthens. Register for OpenAthens here
The following resource (Lexicomp) can be accessed offsite by setting up a personal registration. Please refer to the UpTo Date Libguide for instructions and further information.
Did you know?
