For print books, please review the contents and relevant sections can be emailed or faxed immediately, phone the library on 9508 3430
Integrative Geriatric Medicine by
This book is a detailed, evidence-based reference on the field of integrative geriatric medicine. It is intended for all healthcare providers and advocates who work with the geriatric population.
Integrative geriatrics is a new field of medicine that advocates for a whole-person, patient-centered, primarily non-pharmacological approach to medical care of the elderly.
Clinical Examination by
Core text for ACEM
Management of Patients with Dementia by
Addresses overlooked or under recognized issue in patients with dementia, the management of which necessitates special insight
Provides guidance and knowledge for daily clinical practice in the medical management of patients with dementia
Incorporates cases into chapters to illustrate the principles and management approaches
Dementia and Chronic Disease by
The first text to offer guidance on medical comorbidities in the context of dementia
Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging by
Evidence-based text with over 2300 references in the chapters
Tackles broad topics such as behavioral and social factors as well as an array of clinical conditions that interact with nutrition in older adults
Fully updated and revised edition of the benchmark book in the field of nutrition and aging
Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care by
The Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care is a concise summary of current Palliative Care Practice written by those actively involved in the care of patients in the last phase of life.
Oxford Textbook of Geriatric Medicine by
this comprehensive text provides insights into global population ageing, ageing-relevant policy developments, healthy ageing, lifecourse, multimorbidity, personalised and person-centred care.
Oxford Handbook of Geriatric Medicine 3e by
The Oxford Handbook of Geriatric Medicine covers a range of key treatment areas, indicating where practice differs from that of younger adults or is ill informed by evidence and where dangers lurk for the inexperienced clinician, and the many ethical and clinical dilemmas common in geriatric practice. A practical, accessible, and essential guidance for all junior doctors and specialist trainees in geriatric and general internal medicine, and for all medical and nursing staff who manage older people.
Oxford Textbook of Medicine [Section 6_Old Age medicine] by
Sections include introductory sections on patients and their treatment, background to medicine, cell biology, and immunological mechanisms, as well as more subject-specific sections such as infectious diseases, neurological disorders, cardiovascular disorders, rheumatology, and the kidney, as well as many more.
Search for more online books on GERIATRIC MEDICINE from the following collections:
UptoDate is available to use offsite. Please refer to the Registering for UptoDate Guide for further instructions.
As part of the Evidence Based process, please refer to resources such as UptoDate to support your clinical knowledge and expertise.
UptoDate has a dedicated
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society
If full text is not readily available simply copy and paste the article details to email library@cabrini.com.au who will obtain this for free via an inter library loan service.
Oxford Case Histories in Geriatric Medicine by
The format is as follows: case descriptions with questions followed by answers including detailed discussion of the diagnosis, treatment, and management dilemmas including ethical and holistic aspects of care.
Oxford Desk Reference: Geriatric Medicine by
This resource provides an evidence-based guide for both trainees and consultants in geriatric medicine and those interested in geriatric medicine. Designed in line with the core Royal College curriculum, it provides a comprehensive and relevant guide to the issues seen in everyday geriatric medicine practice across the world.
Clinical Examination Skills in the Adult Critically Ill Patient by
This well-illustrated book provides detailed guidance on all aspects of physical examination in patients requiring emergency or intensive care. After an introductory section covering basic principles and the recognition of pre-terminal signs, the approach to examination of individual organ systems is clearly explained. Examination schemes are then presented for particular conditions or settings, including respiratory distress, shock, neurological disease, trauma, suspected infection, and cardiac arrest.
The following medication resources can be accessed offsite via OpenAthens. Register for OpenAthens here
The following resource (Lexicomp) can be accessed offsite by setting up a personal registration. Please refer to the UpTo Date Libguide for instructions and further information.
Did you know?