Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine by
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine provides a unique resource for medical students and junior doctors as a definitive guide to medicine. It is divided into 19 chapters, each covering a core area, including chest medicine, endocrinology, gastroenterology, renal medicine, haematology, infectious diseases, neurology, oncology and palliative care, rheumatology, surgery, clinical chemistry, radiology, practical procedures, and emergency medicine. It presents clinical information in a clear way that makes it easy to revise, remember, and implement on the ward.
Oxford Handbook for Medical School by
The Oxford Handbook for Medical School provides an essential, practical guide for all students, from receiving an offer and preparing for medical school, to starting as a student, preclinical years and exams, and intercalated degrees through to the clinical years, including succeeding on the wards and in clinic, right up to final exams and assessments, making career decisions, electives, and planning for the future. The handbook serves as a survival guide and an aid to navigating the range of opportunities medical school offers, as well as fully preparing students for their future career.
Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences by
The Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences provides a clear and easily digestible account of basic cell physiology, biochemistry, and molecular and medical genetics, followed by chapters integrating the traditional pillars of biomedicine (anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pathology, and pharmacology) for each of the major systems and processes of the human body: nerve and muscle, musculoskeletal system, respiratory and cardiovascular systems, urinary system, digestive system, endocrine organs, reproductive system, development from fertilization to birth, neuroanatomy and neurophysiology, infection and immunity, and the growth of tissues and organs. Also included are chapters on medicine and society and techniques used in biomedical science research.
Clinical Examination Skills in the Adult Critically Ill Patient by
Describes how physical examination in patients requiring emergency or intensive care differs from that in other patients
Explains the approach to examination of individual organ systems
Presents examination schemes for different conditions and settings
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Diagnosis by
This new edition of this online resource is set out systematically with symptoms and signs through each specialty, and includes a detailed description of the basis of logical evidence-based differential diagnosis. It has been updated with more straightforward diagrams as well as brand new images to help aid understanding. Including rarer diagnoses alongside common conditions, and vital information about longer-term management alongside the initial treatments
Basic Science for Core Medical Training and the MRCP by
This concise text provides an up-to-date and easily readable explanation of the relevant basic science behind each of the medical specialties. The text is often presented in bullet point format with simple concise explanations. It makes extensive use of tables, lists and diagrams with each chapter also containing multiple-choice questions aimed at consolidating the material covered and highlighting topics that are frequently examined.
Oxford Textbook of Medicine [Section 6_Ageing & Clinical Medicine] by
Sections include introductory sections on patients and their treatment, background to medicine, cell biology, and immunological mechanisms, as well as more subject-specific sections such as infectious diseases, neurological disorders, cardiovascular disorders, rheumatology, and the kidney, as well as many more.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties by
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties covers each of the 14 core medical specialties encountered through medical school and Foundation Programme rotations.
Oxford Textbook of Geriatric Medicine by
This comprehensive text provides insights into global population ageing, ageing-relevant policy developments, healthy ageing, lifecourse, multimorbidity, personalised and person-centred care.New material has been added throughout with a strong focus on integrating the impact of age-related physiological and cellular changes with the development of age-related diseases and conditions. Sections on sarcopenia, nutritional health, frailty and related geriatric syndromes have been expanded. Geriatric care principles from public health, primary and specialized care have also been updated and expanded. New models of care in general medicine and surgery and related sub-specialties, outpatient and emergency care, rehabilitation, oncology, palliative medicine and long-term care relevant to older adults are discussed in detail
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine by
The book covers all the new and emerging topics, updated and restructured to reflect major developments in the increasingly widespread acceptance of palliative medicine as a fundamental public health need.
Search for more online books on GEN MED from the following collections:
UptoDate is available to use offsite. Please refer to the Registering for UptoDate Guide for further instructions.
As part of the Evidence Based process, please refer to resources such as UptoDate to support your clinical knowledge and expertise.
UptoDate has a dedicated
MJA : Medical Journal of Australia
Additional Titles
If full text is not readily available simply copy and paste the article details to email library@cabrini.com.au who will obtain this for free via an inter library loan service.
Medicine for MRCP by
Medicine for MRCP provides a comprehensive review of the material that candidates need to pass the MRCP Parts 1 and 2 written papers. The 27 chapters mapped out to the RCP syllabus, cover all areas from molecular medicine and genetics, through to medical law and ethics. Each chapter begins with the basic science required for Part 1, before covering the clinical medicine for Part 1, Part 2 and the PACES examinations. Material is presented in short sections with bullet lists, tables and boxes to highlight key facts. Over 150 drawings and photos illustrate key principles and clinical topics.
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
The content is mapped to the curriculum of the FFPMRCA and includes 247 topics in 32 chapters within nine sections. A comprehensive overview of acute, chronic, and cancer pain management is provided, including aspects of acute pain management, to try and prevent the development of chronic pain. The following categories are covered: overview and pain assessment, pain physiology, relevant pharmacology and anatomy, pain interventions, a clinical section with more than 50 different pain conditions, cancer pain, and the role of psychology and physiotherapy in pain medicine.
Clinical SAQs for the Final FRCEM by
Clinical SAQs for the Final FRCEM contains over 200 Short Answer Questions mapped to the Royal College of Emergency Medicine curriculum.
The following medication resources can be accessed offsite via OpenAthens. Register for OpenAthens here
The following resource (Lexicomp) can be accessed offsite by setting up a personal registration. Please refer to the UpTo Date Libguide for instructions and further information.
Did you know?