Library News
This section will highlight any new resources, services, guides and training. As well as any updated information on resource updates provided by vendors or relevant health societies.
Latest Research
All recent research under relevant topics are listed with links to either the fulltext or the abstract. Always remember that the library can provide a fulltext of an article not available by open access or subscribed links.
Gu, P., Wu, Y., & Lu, W. (2024). New Perspectives on the Role and Therapeutic Potential of Melatonin in Cardiovascular Diseases. American Journal of Cardiovascular Drugs, 1-25. Read Full Text
Cardiovascular diseases (CVDs) are the leading cause of death and disability worldwide. It is essential to develop novel interventions to prevent/delay CVDs by targeting their fundamental cellular and molecular processes. Melatonin is a small indole molecule acting both as a hormone of the pineal gland and as a local regulator molecule in various tissues. It has multiple features that may contribute to its cardiovascular protection.
Shinkins, B., Allen, A.J., Karichu, J. et al. Evidence Synthesis and Linkage for Modelling the Cost-Effectiveness of Diagnostic Tests: Preliminary Good Practice Recommendations. Appl Health Econ Health Policy 22, 131–144 (2024).. Read Full Text
To develop preliminary good practice recommendations for synthesising and linking evidence of treatment effectiveness when modelling the cost-effectiveness of diagnostic tests.
Masuccio, F.G., Grange, E., Di Giovanni, R. et al. Post-Stroke Depression in Older Adults: An Overview. Drugs Aging (2024) Read Full Text
Detailed data on post-stroke depression (PSD) in older adults are limited in spite of the high vulnerability of this population to stroke. The aim of this narrative review was to further elaborate on the prevalence, etiology, diagnosis, consequences and treatment of PSD in older adults.
Svaguša, T., Šimić, S., Grabant, F. et al. Comparison of vitamin K and non-vitamin K oral anticoagulants and the bleeding frequency in the emergency department. High Blood Press Cardiovasc Prev 31, 23–30 (2024). Read Fulltext
The aim of the study was to investigate the differences in the frequency of bleeding and bleeding-related symptoms as a reason for emergency department attendance in patients on anticoagulant therapy.
Sinha, S.D., Chary Sriramadasu, S., Raphael, R. et al. Decentralisation in Clinical Trials and Patient Centricity: Benefits and Challenges. Pharm Med (2024). Read Full Text
Decentralised clinical trials (DCTs) encompass various terms such as virtual, home-based, remote and siteless trials. The objectives of DCTs are to enhance the ease of participation for patients in clinical trials by minimising or removing the necessity for trial subjects to travel to the trial sites. This approach has been shown to reduce drop-out rates, increase study effectiveness and ultimately get life-altering drugs to market faster—saving sponsors billions.
Waterland, J.L., Beer, C., Forbes Shepherd, R. et al. Exploring Consumers’ Motivations and Experiences of Engaging as Partners in Cancer Research. Read Full Text
Consumer engagement improves research quality and relevance but can be difficult to implement. This study aimed to explore the motivations and understand the barriers, if any, experienced by consumers before and when partnering with cancer research teams.
Bellini, V., Russo, M., Domenichetti, T. et al. Artificial Intelligence in Operating Room Management. J Med Syst 48, 19 (2024) Read Full Text
This systematic review examines the recent use of artificial intelligence, particularly machine learning, in the management of operating rooms. A total of 22 selected studies from February 2019 to September 2023 are analyzed. The review emphasizes the significant impact of AI on predicting surgical case durations, optimizing post-anesthesia care unit resource allocation, and detecting surgical case cancellations.
Nguyen, H.H., Do, D.V., To, K.G. et al. The Effect of Dietary Patterns on Reducing Falls and Falls Risk in Adults: A Systematic Review. Curr Nutr Rep 13, 15–22 (2024). Read Full Text
Nutrition may be an important factor for falls prevention in adults, but most previous studies examined the associations between single nutrients and falls. The use of dietary patterns is an alternative method to measure whole diet and its relationship with health outcomes. Therefore, we aimed to systematically review all evidence relating to dietary pattern impacts on falls and/or falls risk in adults.
The Library was pleased to be presented with a copy of " A Boy from Ferruzzano" by the Author, Dr Frank Panetta. Dr Panetta is a cardiologist who has worked at Cabrini for over 30 years. Dr Panetta has penned his life story including his working life in private practice at Cabrini. These snapshots of Cabrini are important for threading together our history of the people or as Dr Panetta has acknowledged our "Cabrini Family".
The Library is always happy to receive such gifts and we thank Dr Panetta for his kind donation.
Cabrini Library has a print collection of well-known management and leadership titles. Simply click on the active URL under each title, this will take the user to "Request this item". All print titles can be sent by the internal mail courier.
The First 90 Days, Updated and Expanded by
"Since its original release, The First 90 Days has become the bestselling globally acknowledged bible of leadership and career transitions. In this updated and expanded 10th anniversary edition, internationally known leadership transition expert Michael D. Watkins gives you the keys to successfully negotiating your next move-whether you're onboarding into a new company, being promoted internally, or embarking on an international assignment. In The First 90 Days, Watkins outlines proven strategies that will dramatically shorten the time it takes to reach what he calls the "breakeven point" - when your organization needs you as much as you need the job.
Master your next move : the essential companion to The First 90 Days by
The follow on companion to The First 90 Days, Watkins. The First 90 Days framework can be applied in every transition, but the way you apply it is entirely different when you have been promoted to a higher level than it is when you are joining a new organization, or taking a role in a different country. Master Your Next Move answers this distinct need, focusing on the most common types of transitions leaders face and the unique challenges posed by each.
The Ideal Team Player by
In The Ideal Team Player, Lencioni tells the story of Jeff Shanley, a leader desperate to save his uncle's company by restoring its cultural commitment to teamwork. Jeff must crack the code on the virtues that real team players possess, and then build a culture of hiring and development around those virtues.' Beyond the fable, Lencioni presents a practical framework and actionable tools for identifying, hiring, and developing ideal team players.' Whether you're a leader trying to create a culture around teamwork, a staffing professional looking to hire real team players, or a team player wanting to improve yourself, this book will prove to be as useful as it is compelling.
Clarity First : How smart leaders and orgnaizations achieve outstanding performance. by
In Clarity First , Karen provides methods and insights for achieving clarity to unleash potential, innovate at higher levels, and solve the problems that matter to deliver outstanding business results. Both a visionary road map and practical guide, this book will help leaders: •Identify and communicate the organization’s true purpose •Set achievable priorities •Deliver greater customer value through more efficient processes •Build organization-wide problem solving capabilities •Develop personal clarity to become a more direct, purposeful, and successful leader.
Blue ocean shift : beyond competing by
Drawing on more than a decade of new work, Kim and Mauborgne show you how to move beyond competing, inspire your people's confidence, and seize new growth, guiding you step-by-step through how to take your organization from a red ocean crowded with competition to a blue ocean of uncontested market space. By combining the insights of human psychology with practical market-creating tools and real-world guidance, Kim and Mauborgne deliver the definitive guide to shift yourself, your team, or your organization to new heights of confidence, market creation, and growth.