These topics listed below by speciality are designed to give you access to the latest research articles searchable via Discovery Search (library catalogue).
For more detailed and advanced research or information requirements please click on the Recommended Databases tab or email library@cabrini.com.au to discuss options.
Please Note
The Allied Health topic searches will launch into Cabrini Discovery Search.
NSQHS Live Searches
Please Click Here to see further peer-reviewed searches which align to the NSQHS standards. These searches have been endorsed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
The Allied Health topic searches will launch into Cabrini Discovery Search.
Below are filtered searches based on various orthopaedic conditions.
These results are from the PubMed database, which is a free Medline database.
Click on the links below to view the results in PubMed.
To filter the search further, add limits of English language and the last 5 years if required.
Click here to see recommended list of databases for Allied Health Staff.
For the complete list of databases click here
Oxford Handbook of Rehabilitation Medicine by
This third edition of the Oxford Handbook of Rehabilitation Medicine is fully updated and expanded in scope to provide concise, evidence-based information on rehabilitation aspects in long-term medical conditions affecting adults. Covering both clinical approaches to managing common symptoms and management in the context of specific conditions, it provides a comprehensive and holistic view of the specialty.
Nutrition, Weight, and Digestive Health by
This book serves as a definitive nutritional reference for medical practitioners who care for patients with digestive diseases. This first-of-its-kind title explores the critical link between nutrition and weight and digestive health and organizes the necessary information for easy use for clinicians across specialties.
The book is divided into four sections; the first section outlines basic nutritional concepts that lay a foundation for future chapters. This includes discussion of the gastrointestinal tract’s role in digestion and metabolism, an outline of dietary composition and associated deficiencies, and a review of nutritional assessment and general therapeutic principles. Next, the second section outlines dietary and nutritional implications of specific digestive diseases organized by affected gastrointestinal organs. Following this, the third section discusses appetite regulation, weight management, and obesity’s association with gastrointestinal diseases.
Functional Movement Disorder by
This book is a practical manual for clinical practitioners seeking to take an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approach to the diagnosis and management of functional movement disorder (FMD). It discusses case vignettes, reviews the diagnostic approach, provides an update on available treatments, highlights clinical pearls and details references for further reading.
Organized into three parts, the book begins with a framework for conceptualizing FMD - including its historical context, the biopsychosocial model and an integrated neurologic-psychiatric perspective towards overcoming mind-body dualism. Part II then provides a comprehensive overview of different FMD presentations including tremor, dystonia, gait disorders, and limb weakness, as well as common non-motor issues such as pain and cognitive symptoms. The book concludes with chapters on updated practices in delivering the diagnosis, working with patients and care partners to achieve shared understanding of a complex condition, as well as an overview of evidence-based and evolving treatments.
Advances in Exercise and Health for People with Mobility Limitations by
This practice-enhancing resource assembles a robust evidence base on the state of disability and mobility limitations today, spotlighting common barriers to improved health among people with disabilities and new directions in reducing them
Social Emergency Medicine by
Social Emergency Medicine incorporates consideration of patients’ social needs and larger structural context into the practice of emergency care and related research.
Social Emergency Medicine: Principles and Practice is an essential resource for physicians and physician assistants, residents, medical students, nurses and nurse practitioners, social workers, hospital administrators, and other professionals who recognize that high-quality emergency care extends beyond the ambulance bay.